Hoglas!

For Christmas this year, Matt bought me a Holga 120N. For those of you who don’t know what that is, don’t worry too much, I didn’t either. I knew they existed because our friends Steve and Kate have one, but I didn’t know anything specific about them (other than the fact that they took cool retro pics) until recently. Steve and Kate happen to have a Holga that takes pictures using regular 35mm film. I didn’t know when I first got my camera that 120N actually meant it took special non-35mm film. SO, I went out and bought a big pack of 35mm film…only to find out that I couldn’t use it and had to order the real stuff off Amazon.

After getting the film, I realized I also had absolutely no idea how to put it into the camera…..also not surprising. I had to watch a YouTube video so I knew I was doing it right. True story. Thank goodness there is such thing as the inter-web, or I would be lost.

So anyhow, it took me a few weeks to get started taking photos because I was waiting for a nice day. Well, I live in Chicago, and it is the middle of winter so I finally came to the conclusion that there weren’t going to be any “nice days” and decided to go out and shoot my first roll of film on a nice, sunny, below zero day. At least there was sun.

I didn’t want to just take pictures of trees, so I bribed two of my friends from work to come along on my adventures with me by buying them some coffee and promising them that “It wouldn’t be that bad”. In the end, everything worked out well. We got our coffee, got a nice workout in, enjoyed some sun….and maybe had a bit of a nice time despite the cold. They will tell you that we didn’t, but they are lying.

It took a few weeks to get my first roll back from Wolf Camera because they sent it out for developing, but I finally got the roll yesterday. All of the shots turned out pretty good for my first attempt at using the Hogla’s ghetto focusing ring and very simplistic point and shooty-ness. Here are a few of my favs:

I think if I had to choose my favorite shot, it would be the first one. As we were walking down towards the river I spotted a fabulous blank white wall with a really cool shadow. Couldn’t pass up the opportunity to have them stand there.

I couldn’t post all the Holga pics from the roll to this blog post because I didn’t want it to get to long. If you’d like to take a gander at the rest of the shots from the roll, you can see them on my Flickr Page. I will be posting more shortly! Yayyy Holgassss!

Leave a comment